Graduate Students

Namrata Ahuja's picture Namrata Ahuja
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
namrata.ahuja@yale.edu
Lab Group: Casey Dunn
Research Interests: evolution and development of marine invertebrates, novel cell types and characteristics, embryology, comparative studies
Year joined department: 2021
Nathalie Alomar's picture Nathalie Alomar
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
nathalie.alomar@yale.edu
Lab Group: Martha Munoz
Research Interests: ecophysiological evolution, herpetology, adaptive radiation, phylogenetic comparative methods
Year joined department: 2021
Arielle Biro's picture Arielle Biro
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
arielle.biro@yale.edu
Lab Group: Carla Staver
Research Interests: Nitrogen fixation, plant-soil feedbacks, plant nutrient acquisition, mycorrhizal fungi, bacterial and fungal plant symbionts, savanna ecology
Year joined department: 2017
Mike Blazanin's picture Mike Blazanin
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
mike.blazanin@yale.edu
Website
Lab Group: Paul Turner
Research Interests: Bacterial and viral ecology and evolution; using experimental evolution for fundamental and applied questions in vivo, vitro and silico.
Year joined department: 2017
Brooke Bodensteiner's picture Brooke Bodensteiner
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
brookelee.bodensteiner@yale.edu
Website
Lab Group: Martha Munoz
Research Interests: Better understanding of the evolutionary patterns and timing of adaptive radiations. (Evolutionary ecology; thermal physiology; phylogenetic comparative methods)
Year joined department: 2019
Henry Camarillo's picture Henry Camarillo
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
henry.camarillo@yale.edu
Lab Group: Martha Munoz
Research Interests: Evolutionary ecology, functional morphology & biomechanics, phylogenetic comparative methods
Year joined department: 2019
Ben Carlson's picture Ben Carlson
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
ben.carlson@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Year joined department: 2014
Chang-Yu Chang's picture Chang-Yu Chang
Graduate Student
300 Heffernan Dr., West Haven, CT 06516
chang-yu.chang@yale.edu
Lab Group: Alvaro Sanchez
Year joined department: 2017
Haysun Choi's picture Haysun Choi
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St, New Haven CT 06511
haysun.choi@yale.edu
Lab Group: Richard Prum
Research Interests: aesthetic evolution, sexual selection and mate choice, mathematical modeling
Year joined department: 2021
Anri Chomentowska's picture Anri Chomentowska
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
anri.chomentowska@yale.edu
Lab Group: Erika Edwards
Year joined department: 2018
Matthew Dougherty's picture Matthew Dougherty
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
matthew.dougherty@yale.edu
Website
Lab Group: David Post
Research Interests: Aquatic ecology, eco-evolutionary feedbacks, Laurentian Great Lakes
Year joined department: 2017
Diego Ellis Soto's picture Diego Ellis Soto
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
diego.ellissoto@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Research Interests: global change biology, human-wildlife interactions, movement ecology, remote sensing
Year joined department: 2018
Ava Ghezelayagh's picture Ava Ghezelayagh
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven CT 06511
ava.ghezelayagh@yale.edu
Lab Group: Tom Near
Research Interests: Phylogenetics, Systematics, Ichthyology, Macroevolution, Diversification
Year joined department: 2018
Ian Gilman's picture Ian Gilman
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
ian.gilman@yale.edu
Website
Lab Group: Erika Edwards
Research Interests: Evolution of photosynthesis, CAM photosynthesis, genomics, and gene regulatory networks.
Year joined department: 2017
Freddy Gonzalez's picture Freddy Gonzalez
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
freddy.gonzalez@yale.edu
Lab Group: Paul Turner
Research Interests: Microbial ecology, phage-mediated community design and using metagenomics to predict & characterize microbial function
Year joined department: 2022
Arata Honda's picture Arata Honda
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
arata.honda@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Research Interests: Arboreality and the assembly of life across forest canopies, advancing taxonomic representation & spatial coverage in remote sensing, temporal niche partitioning, tropical biodiversity, ecosystem science, conservation biology & plans, disturbance ecology
Year joined department: 2022
Noah Houpt's picture Noah Houpt
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
noah.houpt@yale.edu
Lab Group: Paul Turner
Research Interests: Untangling the dynamics and drivers of microbial adaptation and diversification using experimental evolution.
Year joined department: 2021
Daemin Kim's picture Daemin Kim
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
dae-min.kim@yale.edu
Website
Lab Group: Tom Near
Research Interests: Phylogenetics, speciation mechanism, phylogeography and morphology of freshwater fishes
Year joined department: 2016
Julia Laterza Barbosa's picture Julia Laterza Barbosa
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
julia.laterzabarbosa@yale.edu
Lab Group: Martha Munoz
Research Interests: Herpetology, evolutionary physiology, biogeography, phylogenetic comparative methods.
Year joined department: 2020
Richard Li's picture Richard Li
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
richard.li.rl839@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Research Interests: Urban ecology, invasion ecology, biogeography, botany, ornithology
Year joined department: 2019
Cody Limber's picture Cody Limber
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
cody.limber@yale.edu
Lab Group: Richard Prum
Research Interests: Birds, feather development and evolution, genomics
Year joined department: 2019
Muyang Lu's picture Muyang Lu
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
muyang.lu@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Year joined department: 2016
Jasmine Mah's picture Jasmine Mah
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
jasmine.mah@yale.edu
Lab Group: Casey Dunn
Research Interests: Cell type evolution, origin and evolution of complex characters, gene-phenotype relationships
Year joined department: 2018
Swathi Nachiar Manivannan's picture Swathi Nachiar Manivannan
Graduate Student
swathinachiar.manivannan@yale.edu
Lab Group: C. Brandon Ogbunu
Research Interests: Life history traits and eco-evolutionary dynamics of pathogens, host-pathogen interactions, transmission modes of pathogens
Year joined department: 2022
Lauren Mellenthin's picture Lauren Mellenthin
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
lauren.mellenthin@yale.edu
Lab Group: Casey Dunn
Research Interests: Siphonophores, Biophysical evolution of Metazoans, and Morphological diversity.
Year joined department: 2019
Ketty Munyenyembe's picture Ketty Munyenyembe
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
ketty.munyenyembe@yale.edu
Lab Group: Brandon Ogbunu
Research Interests: Experimental evolution in viruses, drug resistance evolution and epidemiology.
Year joined department: 2020
Emmanuel Oduro Takyi's picture Emmanuel Oduro Takyi
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
emmanuel.odurotakyi@yale.edu
Lab Group: Carla Staver
Research Interests: Savanna vegetation dynamics; plants' responses to disturbances.
Year joined department: 2022
Oluwatobi Oso's picture Oluwatobi Oso
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
oluwatobi.oso@yale.edu
Lab Group: Erika Edwards
Research Interests: Plant anatomy, digital morphometrics, biosystematics, and evolution.
Year joined department: 2021
Chantal Parker's picture Chantal Parker
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
chantal.parker@yale.edu
Lab Group: Tom Near
Year joined department: 2017
Josh Randall's picture Josh Randall
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
josh.randall@yale.edu
Lab Group: Erika Edwards
Research Interests: Botany, ecophysiology, plant diversity, urban adaptation, tissue anatomy.
Year joined department: 2020
Alison Robey's picture Alison Robey
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
alison.robey@yale.edu
Lab Group: David Vasseur
Research Interests: : theoretical ecology, species distribution and persistence, spatio-temporal impacts of environmental variability, biodiversity
Year joined department: 2021
Will Rogers's picture Will Rogers
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
will.rogers@yale.edu
Lab Group: Vanessa Ezenwa
Research Interests: Host movement ecology, social behavior, fitness of mixed tolerance/resistance mechanisms, ecoimmunology, phylodynamics, and parasitic community interactions
Year joined department: 2021
Claire Schraidt's picture Claire Schraidt
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
claire.schraidt@yale.edu
Lab Group: David Post
Research Interests: Rapid evolution, mechanisms for adaptation, secondary contact + hybridization, eco-evo feedbacks.
Year joined department: 2022
Shubhi Sharma's picture Shubhi Sharma
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
shubhi.sharma@yale.edu
Lab Group: Walter Jetz
Research Interests: climate change, global biodiversity, forest distributions, statistical modelling, spatio-temporal dynamics
Year joined department: 2020
Abigail Skwara
Graduate Student
abby.skwara@yale.edu
Lab Group: David Vasseur
Year joined department: 2021
Hagar Soliman's picture Hagar Soliman
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
hagar.soliman@yale.edu
Lab Group: Jennifer Coughlan
Research Interests: Investigating the evolution of reproductive isolation barriers and revealing the underlying genetic and molecular mechanisms leading to their formation and fixation in plant species from the genus Mimulus
Year joined department: 2022
Mansa Srivastav's picture Mansa Srivastav
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
mansa.srivastav@yale.edu
Lab Group: Michael Donoghue
Year joined department: 2017
Daniel Stadtmauer's picture Daniel Stadtmauer
Graduate Student
300 Heffernan Dr., West Haven, CT 06516
daniel.stadtmauer@yale.edu
Lab Group: Gunter Wagner
Year joined department: 2017
Liam Taylor's picture Liam Taylor
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, 06511
liam.taylor@yale.edu
Lab Group: Richard Prum
Year joined department: 2018
Riley Wadehra's picture Riley Wadehra
Graduate Student
165 Prosect St., New Haven, CT 06511
riley.wadehra@yale.edu
Lab Group: Carla Staver
Research Interests: ecosystems transitions, theoretical ecology
Year joined department: 2021
Petra Wakker's picture Petra Wakker
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
petra.wakker@yale.edu
Lab Group: David Post
Research Interests: Food web ecology, spatiotemporal community dynamics, aquatic ecology and entomology.
Year joined department: 2020
Maggie Weber's picture Maggie Weber
Graduate Student
165 Prospect St., New Haven, CT 06511
maggie.weber@yale.edu
Lab Group: Vanessa Ezenwa
Research Interests: Host-parasite interactions within ecological communities, coevolution, coinfection, disease ecology
Year joined department: 2022
Julia Wood's picture Julia Wood
Graduate Student
21 Sachem St., New Haven, CT 06511
julia.wood@yale.edu
Lab Group: Tom Near
Research Interests: phylogenetics of freshwater fishes, diversification, and speciation
Year joined department: 2021